top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenny Hao

Trip to Miami

Updated: Jan 29, 2022

2020 is a hard time for a lot of us, especially some new graduate students like me. The pandemic impacts my decisions and choices, and causes the future to become more unpredictable. During the pandemic, some people chose to return to their comfort zone, some people like me chose to be more brave and courageous. I don't want to say I hate this pandemic, because it does let me realize something important and something I should not spend much time on. All human beings learned many valuable stuff from this pandemic. I would like to consider the pandemic as a "Pandora's box," which may bring many negative effects but also in the end, some beautiful hope and future.


After a tiring first semester of my graduate study, I decided to gift myself a trip to Miami. Every time I felt tiring and lonely, the place I would like to go to is nature: ocean, mountains, and farms. Being in nature makes me feel relaxing and comfortable, because I do not need to sit in front of my Macbook and spend time on my phones anymore. I can keep on walking and enjoying the beautiful scenes.



The first stop of our Miami trip is Biscayne National Park. Actually this park is relatively private and not that famous, comparing to the Everglades National Park. Since 95% of the Biscayne Park is water, the park only provides some water-related activities, such as surfing, boating, snorkeling and kayaking. During the Covid-19, the park only offers small group visiting under 12 people. We registered snorkeling and boating, which is unique and interesting.



Although the weather in New Jersey is frozen and under 0 degree, the temperature in Miami is super great and comfortable, around 23 degrees. It is unbelievable that in January we still can wear swim suits and snorkel in the ocean. The ocean is warm and clear, but super super salty. It is my second time snorkeling, but I still inhaled the super salty water. I can still remember that disgusting feeling of inhaling the water until now.


There have a lot of different kinds of fish and coral reef under the ocean, and they are colorful and beautiful. Following the reef routine, we can see the fish (and a turkle) eating, swimming, and playing. I felt myself is a special mermaid, swimming happily with them.





Miami is also famous for its beach and Cuban food. There are many Cuban and Peru immigrants in Miami and open some fantastic restaurants. I really like to introduce the Cuban 1957 restaurant in South Beach and the national food called ceviche. When I first taste this appetizer ceviche, it is tastes sour (because of the lemon juices) and cold. However, after several spoons, I felt the combinations of raw fish and fruit salads are amazing and magical.




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page