top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenny Hao

Hello, Shanghai!

Updated: Jul 19, 2022

When I talked to some foreigners, they only knew few Chinese cites, like Beijing, Hong Kong, and Shanghai, etc. Shanghai is definitely the international city, and attracts many investments or provides great opportunities for ambitious people. Shanghai also has a cute nickname: "Modern city" (my translation is not that accurate), but it shows that when you go to Shanghai, it is a different world, a fantasy world, a dream world. (Maybe that's the reason why Disneyland go there.)


I stayed in Shanghai for 2 days in my trip. The last time I went to Shanghai is because of the Shanghai Expos. I still remembered my grandpa was active and happy there. However, few years later, he may not go everywhere but stay in hospital. It is very sad.


First of all, I would like to write something about food. The food in Shanghai is a little bit different from Suzhou.


The picture below is Shanghai soup bun. Because it contains many liquid inside, the chief suggests me to drink the bun first. Isn't that interesting? Who can drink the bun? Shanghai bun can! After drinking all the soup from the bun, you can begin to eat.




Second bun: Fresh Fried Bun! Can you imagine there is several buns in Shanghai, in different shape, different flavor, different cooking methods. This fresh fried bun is really similar to the soup bun above, because it also contains soup. But the outside crust is really crispy. The best fresh fried bun's crest should be very thin, and contains many soup. Because I am not good at eating it, the soup spread to everywhere, especially my shirt.


Ok, the third kind of bun: Sweet Green Rice Ball, or Green Dumpling. But these translation only translates the character, but not the actual name. This rice ball is really sticky. Because my grandparents are big fans for these "Qing Tuan" (Chinese pronunciation), I bought 30 rice balls to home. It's my first time to eat "Qing Tuan", but the tastes are really incredible and nature. The outside color is green mainly because they use edible leaves to make it. I waited for over 40 minutes to buy this traditional food.



Because my Rutgers friend Arni Yang lives in Shanghai, I met her in the center of Shanghai and had dinner together. The left of this picture is called "Squirrel-shaped fish", because the whole appearance of this dish is really similar to an active squirrel. It is a Shanghai traditional dish, and many foreign visitors love it. The squirrel-shaped fish contains ketchup and the fish is fried, which make outside very crispy.

Another new bun! Rabbit bun! Because I am born in 1999, which is "rabbit" year, this bun is really suitable for me to eat (Really?). Actually this bun is also made of rice and very sticky.






11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Комментарии


bottom of page